1 Piece 5 Ways: Little Black Dress

collage

I love when magazines take one item of clothing  style it several different ways. I always find these articles especially helpful because I am definitely the type of person who looks into her full closet and claims she “has nothing to wear.” Seeing one simple piece worn so many unique ways never fails to inspire me. In that spirit, I am starting a new series called “More Bangin’ Hot For Your Buck,” and I’m going to kick things off with this simple little black dress from H&M:

P1160213I got this dress for only $12 a couple of years ago and it has really become a staple because of its versatility. You can find a similar ones here and here.

Okay, here we go!

Look #1:

P1160191I love the boho vibe of this look. H&M hat (similar here), Forever 21 belt, Payless shoes (similar here), thrifted skirt (similar here), and a necklace from my mom

Look #2:

P1160138Don’t be afraid to bring those strapless minis right into fall and winter! Just add a cozy sweater, tights, and boots. Wearing a thrifted sweater (similar here), Vera Wang tights, thrifted boots and necklace, and my DIY headpiece

Look #3:

P1160172Perfect for a night out. I really love how the dress acts like a pencil skirt in this look. Wearing an American Eagle Crop top (similar here), Urban Outfitters shoes, Forever 21 bracelet, and a thrifted clutch

Look #4:

P1160146For when you’re feeling edgy! Or, if you’re feeling more saucy than edgy, just ditch the vest

P1160158 H&M vest, thrifted skirt (similar here), and thrifted boots (similar here)

Look #5:

P1160099A sportier, more casual look. H&M top (similar here), Converse sneakers, Forever 21 necklace, and a hand-me-down backpack.

I hope this helps you look at your clothes and see a few new possibilities for them. I can’t tell you how many of my favorite outfits have come about by trying on pieces that I didn’t necessarily think would work well together or wearing a piece in a way other than what it was intended for. Just try it out and have fun with it. Now go into your closet and see what combos you can come up with, I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

